violin and piano
(1999) 18′



Sonata for Violin and Piano

Price: $15.00
Format :

All files will be available for download immediately after purchase. Hard copies will be shipped as soon as possible.

III. “Calm and Still”

Virginia Respess, violin; Thomas Osborne, piano

Sonata for Violin and Piano was written in the Summer of 1999 for violinist Virginia Respess. The piece is in four movements:

I. Dialogues: As the title promises, this movement is a conversation between violinist and pianist.

II. Nocturne: A chance for the violin to sing over a flowing accompaniment.

III. Calm and Still: This movement begins calm and still, but soon becomes something quite different.

IV. Pas de Deux: A quick, virtuosic dance for two.

The piece was premiered in Ann Arbor, MI in the Fall of 1999 by Virginia Respess and Thomas Osborne.

Related Works