Tumbling From the Ninth Height of Heaven

vln/koto, vlc/koto, or shakuhachi/vlc/koto
(2007) 9′



included on Taking the Scarlet by Duo vioLINKotoPurchase

Tumbling from the Ninth Height of Heaven for Violin and Koto

Price: $15.00
Format :

Tumbling from the Ninth Height of Heaven for Cello and Koto

Price: $15.00
Format :

Tumbling from the Ninth Height of Heaven for Shakuhachi, Cello and Koto

Price: $15.00
Format :

All files will be available for download immediately after purchase. Hard copies will be shipped as soon as possible.

Duo Yumeno: Hikaru Tamaki, cello; Yoko Reikano Kimura, koto

The piece takes its title from a poem by Li Bai (c. 700-762), a Chinese poet from the Tang dynasty. The poem, “Viewing the Waterfall at Mount Lu,” describes an enormous waterfall at Mount Lu in Jiangsi province:

Sunlight streaming on Incense Stone
kindles violet smoke; far off I watch the waterfall plunge to the long river,
flying waters descending straight three thousand feet,
till I think the Milky Way has tumbled from the ninth height of Heaven.
(trans. Burton Watson)

This poem inspired the Japanese artist Katsushika Hokusai to design a woodcut depicting Li Bai at the edge of a cliff gazing upon the immense falls while his two young attendants try to keep the inebriated poet from tumbling over the edge. Both the poem and Hokusai’s print were the focus as I wrote the piece. The piece is filled with descending lines and rippling, cascading textures. Though there is plenty of activity on the surface, the materials on which the piece is based are quite simple. I took this decorative minimal approach as an homage to Hokusai, whose works are often both ornate and simple at once.

The piece was originally written for Duo Vio-LINK-oto (Pia Liptak, violin; Ryuko Mizutani, koto), who gave the premiere performance in Honolulu in February 2007. The cello/koto version was arranged for Duo Yumeno (Yoko Reikano Kimura, koto; Hikaru Tamaki, cello) in 2014, and the trio version was adapted for Christopher Molina in 2019.




Related Works