solo piano
(2022) 3′



Supernova: Graphic and Performance Score

Price: $10.00

Files will be available for download immediately after purchase.

Nic Gerpe, piano

Composed as part of Makrokosmos50, a project commemorating the 50th anniversary of George Crumb’s landmark solo piano work Makrokosmos, this short piece takes its inspiration from the final movement of Crumb’s seminal work. This the last of the three “symbol” movements in Crumb’s score, and its notation is formed beautifully into the shape of a spiral. My own take on this symbol was to envision it as a kind of supernova — an explosive event that resonates deep into the cosmos. After a quick, intense flurry of sound moving to a musical singularity of sorts, the piece shifts gears as a gentle “Lullaby for the Star-Child” emerges, radiating outward like beams of light.

Supernova was commissioned by pianist Nic Gerpe as part of his Makrokosmos 50 project.

A graphic score and performance score is available for the piece.

Related Works