Haru (하루)

Korean traditional orchestra
(2016) 23′




Price: $35.00
Format :

Score PDF files will be available for download immediately after purchase. If ordered, PDF parts will be sent shortly by email.

National Orchestra of Korea (국립국악관현악단); Kim Sung-jin, conductor (김성진, 지휘)

One of the most fundamental and intriguing aspects of nature is the concept of cycles. We are surrounded by natural rhythms, large and small. From the changing of the seasons to our planet’s orbit around the sun, the rising and falling of the tides to the circle of life and death, our existence is dependent on and defined by cycles. Perhaps no cycle is felt more in our daily lives than that of the rotation of the Earth, and this is the cycle portrayed in this work. Haru (Korean for “A Day”) is a series of four portraits, each inspired by a different part of the day.

The opening movement, “Dawn,” portrays a scene of anticipation, one in which the sky’s colors gradually become more brilliant until the sun finally emerges over the horizon. The second movement, “Midday Rainstorm,” portrays a storm arriving, pouring down its rain from above and growing in intensity. The third movement, Twilight, sets a scene inspired by the muted colors of the sky just after sunset. And the final movement, “Full Moon,” opens with pensive music as an accompaniment for moon gazing. Celebratory music is then heard in the distance, becoming louder as it nears. This music was inspired by the daeborum (“large full moon”) celebrations that occur on the first full moon after the lunar new year, in which the festivities become raucous at times. In the end, the cycle continues, with the “dawn” music returning amid the celebrations.

Haru was commissioned by the National Orchestra of Korea and is dedicated to this talented and innovative group of musicians.

국립국악관현악단이 ‘무위자연’ 공연에서 토머스 오즈번 작곡가에게 위촉하였던 국악 관현악 ‘Haru(하루)’는 하루에 일어나는 일을 ‘해 뜨는 아침’ ‘한낮의 폭풍우’ ‘황혼’ ‘보름달’ 4악장으로 구성한 곡이다. 주기週期, cycle를 자연에서 가장 근본적이면서도 흥미로운 측면이라고 여긴 작곡가는 이 곡에서 하루의 주기를 주제로 담고 있다. 음악적으로는 타악 파트의 다양한 연주 기법이 두드러지며, 국악기의 전통 연주법을 사용하면서도 새로운 소리를 만들어내려고 한 작곡가의 노력이 돋보인다. 초연 이후 재연주에 대한 요청이 많았으며, 서사성이 뛰어난 아름다운 곡으로 호평 받았다. 한국에서 장기간 머물며 한국 악기와 음악을 배우고 연주자들과 일대일로 작업, 다양한 작품을 작곡한 오즈번은 국악에서 사운드 특히 음과 음 사이의 공간에 관심을 갖고 탐구를 해오고 있다.

1악장 ‘해 뜨는 아침’에서는 하늘이 점차 밝아지다가 마침내 태양이 수평선 너머로 떠오르기까지의 기대감을 보여주고, 2악장 ‘한낮의 폭풍우’는 비가 쏟아지며 폭풍우가 찾아온다. 3악장 ‘황혼’은 해가 넘어가고 어둑해진 하늘을 그리며, 정월대보름 축제에서 영감을 받은 4악장 ‘보름달’은 달을 바라보는 장면을 묘사하기 위해 수심 어린 음악으로 시작한다. 그러다 멀리서 축제의 음악이 들려오고, 활기찬 축제에 다가가며 점차 음악소리가 커진다. 이번 공연을 위해 작곡가는 악기별 특성을 더욱 극적으로 표현하도록 수정하였고 일부 부분은 새로 작곡하였다. 특히 마지막 악장 ‘보름달’을 더욱 화려하고 풍성하게 표현하여 곡의 종지부를 장식할 예정이다.

Related Works