Eternity (영원)

daegeum and Korean traditional orchestra
(2017) 18′



included on Respect for Tradition IV by the Busan National Gugak Center OrchestraPurchase


Price: $20.00
Format :

Score PDF files will be available for download immediately after purchase. If ordered, PDF parts will be sent shortly by email.

Busan National Gugak Center Orchestra (국립부산국악원 연주단); Chung Sung-Hun (정성훈), daegeum; Kwon Sung-Taek (권성택), conductor

One of the most revered works in the Korean court music repertoire has an appropriately poetic – and beautiful – title. Sujecheon is often translated as “Long Life Immeasurable as the Heavens,” and as the title suggests, the music has a uniquely timeless feel. The work is made up of ornamented melodies and rhythmic patterns that are played so slowly it feels as if the entire ensemble is moving in slow motion. Like Sujecheon, this daegeum concerto features long, slow melodies and rhythmic patterns that are spread out across long distances. At other times the music is quick and energized, though the underlying structure of Sujecheon is always present at its core.

The concerto is structured in 4 major sections. The first bears the closest resemblance to the court music on which it is based, with the orchestra playing a variation of the opening of Sujecheon before the daegeum announces its entrance. The second section introduces rustling rhythms that gradually filter through the entire ensemble. The daegeum leads the ensemble in the third section, as the orchestra echoes its lyrical lines. After an extended cadenza, the fourth section returns to the melodies of Sujecheon, but now in a much faster tempo.

Eternity is dedicated to music director Kwon Sung Taek and the Busan National Gugak Center orchestra.

‘수제천(壽齊天)’은 구성이나 음악의 모양새 모두 장중함과 위엄, 화려함을 갖춘 곡으로 지극히 아름답고 시적인 뜻의 제목을 가지고 있으며 ‘수명이 하늘과 같이 가지런하다’는 뜻으로, 오래 살기를 기원하는 의미를 담고 있다. 한국의 궁중음악들 가운데 가장 존경받는 곡으로 한국 전통음악의 백미로 꼽힌다. 이 곡의 곡명에서 알 수 있듯이 음악은 매우 독특하며 끝이 없는 듯 한 느낌을 가지고 있다. 이 곡은 다양하고 화려한 장식음과 리드미컬한 패턴들로 이뤄져 있는데, 전체 합주가 마치 느린 동작으로 움직이는 것처럼 연주되어 느리게 느껴지는 작품이다. 이 대금 협주곡은 수제천 원곡과 마찬가지로 먼 거리를 길게 퍼져 나가는 듯 길고 느린 선율과 리드미컬한 패턴들이 특징이며, 때에 따라 빠르고 활기차게 연주된다. 또한 총 4개의 악장으로 구성되어 있으며, 첫 번째 악장은 궁중음악의 근본과 가장 유사하도록 만들어 졌고, 대금 독주가 시작되기 전 곡의 도입부에는 오케스트라가 수제천의 변형 가락들을 연주한다. 두 번째 악장에서 흔들거리는 선율들은 전체 합주를 통해 점차 옅어진다. 대금은 세 번째 악장에서 서정적인 선율의 오케스트라 연주 전체를 이끌어 간다. 네 번째 악장은 대금의 솔로가 끝나고 시작되며, 수제천의 선율로 다시 돌아가 좀 더 빠른 속도로 연주된다.

Related Works