Ascent (오름)

concerto for geomungo and Korean traditional orchestra
(2019) 17′



included on 본 (Bon) by the Jeollabuk-do Provincial Orchestra

Kim Mu-gil (김무길), geomungo; Jeollabuk-do Provincial Orchestra; Kwon Sung-taek (권성택), conductor

Perhaps the most delicate request a composer can receive is to incorporate someone else’s music into his or her own work. The composer’s challenge is to respect and highlight the original music while still finding a path to self-expression. So when I was approached to write this piece, one that would incorporate Kim Mu-gil’s geomungo sanjo, I first spent a long time getting to know the sanjo, until I felt I’d nearly memorized it. I then wrote a piece that, like the sanjo form itself, accumulates energy as it goes. As the sanjo moves through various rhythmic patterns (jangdan) the orchestra becomes more and more involved, and more energized as well. The overall trajectory of the piece is one of ascent, beginning in the depths and moving higher over time.

The piece was commissioned by the Jeollabuk-do Provincial Institute for Korean Traditional Performing Arts.

아마도 작곡가가 받을 수 있는 가장 섬세한 요청은 다른 사람의 음악을 자신의 작품에 접목시키는 것일 것이다. 작곡가의 도전은 원곡을 존중하고 부각시키는 것과 동시에 자기표현의 길을 찾는 것이다. 그래서 김무길의 거문고 산조를 조합한 이 작품을 쓰려고 접근했을 때, 나는 산조를 거의 외웠다는 느낌이 들 때까지 먼저 산조를 알게 되는 데 오랜 시간을 보냈다. 그리고 나서 나는 산조 형식 그 자체처럼 에너지가 흐르는 대로 축적되는 작품을 썼다. 산조가 다양한 리듬 패턴(장단)을 거치며 움직이면서 오케스트라는 점점 더 관여하게 되고, 또한 더욱 활기를 띠게 된다. 이 작품의 전체적인 궤도는 깊은 곳에서부터 시작하여 시간이 지남에 따라 더 높이 이동하는 오르막의 하나이다.

이 작품은 김무길과 전북도립국악관현악단 그리고 지휘자 권성택을 위해 작곡되었다.

Related Works